Lufthansa reviews


  Overview    Seats    Entertainment     Experience    Frequent Flyer    Lounges    Routes    History    Tips & Web    Food    Drink  

Airline reviews Lufthansa Passenger Reviews

  Would you like your say on Lufthansa? If you would like to contribute, please write your own review & trip report. Reviews are contributors opinions alone, but as the editor I may cut comments violating the terms & conditions ).
Airreviews opinion
Lufthansa: a three star airline 2.5 Star Rating: OK, not the best
Frequent Flyer is very hard to obtain status, particularly on cheap fares.
International First Class
Seat is retro in First, in pairs, and not very private.
Lounges amazing: First lounges at Frankfurt and Munich among the best in the world.
International Business Class
Seat lies flat but on a slope, and is one of the most uncomfortable in the air
Lounges in Business are poor, with the standard business lounge offering having little food and bad seating.
International Economy Class
Seat is average: not the best, but far above some other airlines. Only 31" pitch.
Entertainment good on the A380 with full AVOD. Sub-par on 747: few with seatback TV.
Food & Drinks are very good, with plenty of free hot food and a free bar.
Domestic
Aircraft have new uncomfortable spacesaver seat.
Your reviews
Lufthansa
Rated 2.5 out of 10 from 32 reviews
Recommended by 40% of reviewers (6 for, 9 against, 1 abstain)
Seat
 2.5
Food
 3.1
Drink
 4
IFE
 3.4
Service
 3.6
Value
 2.5
Longhaul
2.9
Econ
1.2
Biz
2
First
Shorthaul
4
Econ
0
Biz
Domestic
0
Econ
0
Biz
stars  total
0-1
 9
2-3
 8
4-5
 2
6-7
 1
8-9
 2
10
 0


More reviews►
Lufthansa Reviews 16 reviews, showing 1 to 10
1 2
Lufthansa Review: Lufthansa did not refund
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I booked 3 ticket from lufthansa from ankara to turkey for LH1787. They send me e mail about flight cancellatin less than 36 hours for flight. (Planned flight was at april 27,2016). I requested refund but they did not refund since April 27,2016. They cancelled flight withour any escuse. There were only 8 people and they cancelled flight because it was not profitable. I sent many mail to lufthansa but they are unreliable.
LonghaulEconomy
      toMunich
OnApril 2016
ByMehmet Ali Karaca
5th Aug 16Turkey
      
Lufthansa Review: Lufthansa no more!
  +3 votes
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I recently had a round trip business class from Tel Aviv to Frankfurt on the Airbus 321. Business Class seats were simply terrible. There is not much space in the cabin and the service was mediocre at best. Can you imagine that there were out of Vodka after 45 minutes in the air. Lufthansa has been behind other airlines for some time now. However, I was really surprised by the low level of service, inadequate comfort (the seats really left me hurting).
LonghaulBusiness Class
AircraftAirbus A320
OnMay 2014
ByPaul
7th May 16Israel
      
Lufthansa Review: Lufthansa flight Singapore to Frankfurt
  +1 votes
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
My wife and I flew on LH778 and LH779 from Singapore to Frankfurt. We paid a total of 280GBP for 2 seat reservations with extra leg room. We occupied seats 75B and 75C on the outward and inward flights. These seats were by the 4 toilets and we were constantly prevented from sleeping by the continual slamming of the toilet doors and the bright lights as the toilet doors opened after use. Then there is the unpleasant odour of being in such close proximity to the lavatories.It has been a terrible experience and ruined the start and end of the holiday.Both my wife and I had our toes stood on or legs kicked as people queued in the semi dark for the toilets throughout the night flights. I do not expect to pay 280GBP for this type of experience. Furthermore passengers, understandably, were regularly using the space to stretch their limbs, stand up or simply look out of the door window. It was busier than a airport lounge and is not pleasant as one tries to simply relax or eat the airline meal. I complained to the crew and although they were helpful they could not possibly resolve the situation although incredibly we were offered standard seats as an alternative but not a refund. We effectively lost two nights sleep and we lost the first day of our holiday in Singapore as we were in no condition or the right frame of mind to leave our hotel room. Equally our experience on the return journey ensured we were suitably downtrodden. The toilets, in their central position, were serving around 280 people and few used the toilets at the very front or rear of the aeroplane. The seats we occupied, being where they are, means that to sell these seats as extra legroom is a diabolical disgrace. Every single member of the crew we spoke to (four in total) separately agreed with this point and it did not require any encouragement or prompting. I cant think that we shall ever travel with the airline again, particularly in such seats.
LonghaulEconomy
AircraftAircraft: A38
RouteFrankfurt
      toSingapore - Changi
OnApril 2016
ByJohn Martin
4th Apr 16United Kingdom
      
Lufthansa Review: HORRIBLE food
 
Overall: 3/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I recently flew from Frankfurt to Mexico. Overall the flight was good and I was very happy about the WiFi on board. However, the food. I understand this is not a restaurant and I am in coach class but still... it was HORRIBLE. Gulash and mashed potatoes for lunch, fried undefined sausages and mashed potatoes (for a change) for dinner. The alternative being pasta for lunch and... pasta for dinner. It took me 3 days to digest that stuff. Truly, I fly a lot, mostly in coach class and I don't remember having such terrible food. Ever.
LonghaulEconomy
RouteFrankfurt
      toMexico City
OnOctober 2014
Byfab
12th Oct 15
      
Lufthansa Review: Lufthansa: delayed baggage and very poor customer relations;
 
Overall: 2/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Lufthansa was a huge disappointment to me in the area of customer service response and also in their handling of my luggage. Luggage for business is critical and a failure in this area will keep me from using this airline again, as a person who travels to Europe extensively. I was on a United Flight June 1, from Newark to Milano, that was cancelled after 5 hours in the airport, at midnight. United put me on a Lufthansa flight the next morning but my luggage did not follow for 6 days. I was accompanying a group of stakeholders on a Preschool exchange with Italy and the USA. I was critical for the language and the appointed representative for both countries. A ten day, full day schedule visits, meetings with officials and various preschool tours. Bottom line, I needed my business clothing. I also contacted United who told me there is an arrangement between partner airlines that has the last carrier is the one who is responsible for the luggage. I called Lufthansa, in Italy who informed me I had to call the USA. I called to the USA to ask what the procedure would be for purchasing clothing and was told to purchase clothing and toiletries as needed, no limit. I asked again, was there a daily limit of article limit and was told no and then to follow the online procedures. I did that and did not purchase excessively, but rather borrowed toiletries. I followed the procedures online regarding contacting Lufthansa. I sent repeated emails to Lufthansa from June thru Sept., only to receive an automated reply every time. I tried every email on their site. I called the airport counter and told my story and was told by an employee there is an 800 number for baggage that she could give me, but it is only a tape recorded message. I also did that. At no time did any Lufthansa employee express anything other than I would be reimbursed for my expenditure. Two days ago, after writing an email to the president of the airline asking for at least a response, I got a phone call in the middle of the day from a representative from Lufthansa telling me they would pay for 50 of any clothing I bought and 100 for intimate wear and toiletries. I could barely hear him and asked to send me an email, he did. I did ask why I was not told this the first time I called, at the beginning, no explanation. He also disputed the amount of days I was without luggage according to his delivery records but I am holding the packaging from the luggage when it arrived and the sign off by the hotel. Very, very unprofessional but the most ridiculous part of all, he told me I could return the clothing to Lufthansa with the receipts and then they would reimburse the full amount. On Sept. 9th, a full three months later, they would like the clothing back and they already have the receipts, as I sent them according to instructions, in order to be properly compensated. What would be the sense of this action? I have contacted United, who paid for the expenses I had due to the cancellation of that flight and me arriving a day late to my meetings. I was informed their practices are clearly defined from the first phone call, they apologized but that policy is not in their area. Lufthansa handled this matter very, very poorly from the lack of response to the very unprofessional manner by the last agent. I caution anyone who flies Lufthansa to read any fine print you can and keep very good records if you are checking luggage. Do not do anything by phone.
LonghaulEconomy
RouteNew York - Newark (EWR)
      toMilan - Malpensa
OnJune 2015
ByJulia Musella
13th Sep 15United States
      
Lufthansa Review: First & Last Trip with Lufthansa
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
This is the first time I travel with Lufthansa. My flight is to Barcelona with a stop in Munich. Actually, my flight is in 7 hours, and I received an hour ago an email stating that my flight from Munich to Barcelona got cancelled. When I contacted Lufthansa, they had no alternative solution or a backup plan. Their solution was to book another flight some other day. I was on the phone and had different websites already opened showing so many flights to Barcelona on that day, but they kept saying that nothing is appearing on their system and that there are no flights ALL day. So in my perspective, in addition to their un-professionalism, their customers don't matter at all. My hotel booking doesn't matter and neither do any of the activities that I arranged for that trip and already paid for matter. This is THE worst airline I've ever came across and with today's social media, I'm gonna let everyone know about this terrible service, incompetence and unqualification!
ShorthaulEconomy
AircraftAirbus A320
RouteMunich
      toBarcelona El Prat
OnMarch 2015
ByLogan
19th Mar 15
      
Lufthansa Review: Better off taking a bus
 
Overall: 2/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Flew from USA to Kiev, Ukraine on 8614 on Lufthansa. When I arrived Kiev my suitcase was not there. Went to Lost and Found and filed report. I had some questions and they directed me to the Lufthansa office, The Lufthansa employee said they did not know how to answer my questions and could not help. In 5 days my suitcase was delivered to me. Driver told me it would have been there sooner but Lufthansa gave them the wrong address.
LonghaulEconomy
OnSeptember 2014
ByAngry
4th Sep 14United States
      
Lufthansa Review: Terrific Trans atlantic flight
 
Overall: 8/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Had an excellent flight from Montreal to Munich as part of a ticket to Rome (my journey originally started in Charlottetown, PEI on Air Canada). Food was good and plentiful for an economy meal (it even had metal cutlery). It was a much more substantial meal than what Air Canada offers on their trans Atlantic flights. IFE was excellent, a large selection of shows and movies were available, and the screen was terrific. Seat was stiff and not the most comfortable out there (I find Air Canada has a more comfortable seat), but it was alright for a 7.5 hr flight, but probably would not have been great for anything longer. As a Star Alliance gold member via Air Canada, I had perks I have not seen in Canada. When I exited customs and had to go back through security in Munich, I had a dedicated security lane which had almost no line. I don't believe Air Canada has this anywhere in Canada. The international Maple Leaf Lounge in Montreal was terrific, which had some good food prior to getting on the flight, and had a terrific view of the surrounding area. The schengen senator lounge in Munich was alright, had just ok food, but was an alright lounge.Overall, I found the Lufthansa experience to be a big step above Air Canada and would look to fly them again.
LonghaulEconomy
AircraftAirbus A330
RouteMontreal
      toMunich
OnMay 2014
ByJon MacLeod
9th Jun 14Canada
      
Lufthansa Review: Lufthansa Sucks!
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Lufthansa cancelled our original flight from Barcelona to Atlanta via Frankfurt. When they rebooked our flight, not only is it 4 hours longer with an additional stop but they would not honor our business class seats even though they had availability. Do not ever fly this airline.
LonghaulBusiness Class
AircraftAircraft: 340
RouteBarcelona El Prat
      toAtlanta
OnJune 2013
ByRobert
30th Jun 13United States
      
Lufthansa Review: TERRIBLE AIRLINE AVOID AT ALL COSTS
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
We had a terrible time with Lufthansa when we flew back from Barcelona. We were denied access to our flight and had to pay 750 more to take a later flight. This was through no fault of our own. Customer service was terrible we have dealt with them for two months over this issue and they have refused to compensate us for our extra cost for this already much more expensive flight. Take any other airline BUT STAY AWAY FROM LUFTHANSA!!!
LonghaulEconomy
RouteBarcelona El Prat
OnMay 2013
ByBeth
15th May 13United States
      
Next Page►
 
1 2

Airreview Add Review
Submit your own review
Overall score: Roll over & click to set score Select HERE or below: 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Title:
Review:

Name: Email:
(Your Email address is not displayed on the site)   

Optional information: Would you recommend this airline to a friend?
Class: Distance:

Optional Ratings: You don't have to tell us about this, but it would help make your review stand out
Food: Roll over & click for score Drink: Roll over & click for score
IFE: Roll over & click for score Seat: Roll over & click for score
Cabin Crew: Roll over & click for score Value for Money: Roll over & click for score

Optional Details: Leave blank if your're in a hurry - but it helps if you want to let us know
Aircraft:

Where did you fly from and to?
to:

Enter the 3 letter IATA Airport Code (This information is optional - leave blank if you do not know it)

I live in:        When you flew:
Optional Photos: Add some images to illustrate your review
Image 1:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 2:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 3:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 4:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 5:
Link to image:
Description:
Enter the URL (website address) where the images are stored. You should only link to photos you own, and for which you own the copyright. We are working on hosting images too, but don't have that capacity right now.
Add more detailed ratings of food, IFE & seat
Add more information about your trip
Add photographs


  Return to Editor's review & opinion on Lufthansa