AirlinesStarAllianceoneWorldSkyteamOthersNewsSeatmapsLoungesForumContact

American Airlines Reviews

OverviewFleetEntertainmentExperienceFrequentFlyerLoungesRoutesHistoryTipsFoodDrinkYourReviewsDiscuss
Airline reviews American Airlines Passenger Reviews

American Airlines passenger reviews

  Would you like your say on American Airlines? If you would like to contribute, please write your own review & trip report. Reviews are contributors opinions alone, but as the editor I may cut comments violating the terms & conditions ).
Airreviews opinion
American Airlines: a one star airline 1 Star Rating: bad

Your reviews
American Airlines
Rated 3 out of 10 from 42 reviews
Recommended by 11% of reviewers (1 for, 8 against, 12 abstain)
Seat
 3.5
Food
 3.1
Drink
 3.6
IFE
 3.1
Service
 4
Value
 2.9
Longhaul
2.4
Econ
0
Biz
Shorthaul
5.5
Econ
4
First
Domestic
1.4
Econ
1
First
stars  total
0-1
 14
2-3
 3
4-5
 1
6-7
 1
8-9
 2
10
 2


More reviews►
American Airlines Reviews 21 reviews, showing 1 to 10
1 2 3
American Airlines Review: Gordon Davis
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I have never flown with such an incompetent airline as I did with American Airlines. From the shoddy flight to the snobby stewardesses. Never Again AA, you got my money, and wasted MY time. But never again.There isn't a negative number, so you get a score, aren't you just FAB!
ShorthaulEconomy
AircraftAirbus A320
RouteLas Vegas
      toDallas Fort Worth
OnJuly 2018
ByGordon Davis
17th Jul 18United States
      
American Airlines Review: Airplane mechanical issues and obismal customer service
 
Overall: 2/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I am very disappointed with the service and travel experience I'm experiencing with American Airlines. After our initial arrival at the airport and waiting for two hours my husband and I were informed our flight would be delayed due to mechanical issues. This delay caused us to miss our connecting flight. We were assured that we would get into Charlotte where a hotel would be provided and arrive in Tampa by 9:30 am the next morning. After sitting in airport for an additional 2 hours we were advised the flight was delayed an additional 1.5 hours and that there were would be no hotel rooms available in Charlotte. We were then booked on a flight the next day which didn't arrive until 1:00 pm. Ticket agents in the airport were unable to provide any customer service aside from rebooking our flights. A 64.00 a night hotel room was provided. For further customer service we were directed to the website Interestingly ticket agents are available 24 hours per day. Customer relations personnel are only available during business hours. Given I have the misfortune of being stuck on a Friday night, there is no one available to talk to until Monday morning. However I could leave a message on the customer service website. Adding to my frustration, the page would open but there was no area to enter my concerns. When discussing with a ticket agent I was advised that they were able to access the page and that I must not have good internet access in the hotel where I'm unfortunately staying. I am a reasonable person and understand things happen, but the customer service I received following this experience has added insult to injury. If this is how American Airlines values their customers, I'm not so sure I want to give them my business in the future.
LonghaulEconomy
OnMarch 2018
ByChris covel
17th Mar 18United States
      
American Airlines Review: OUTSTANDING SERVICE
 
Overall: 10/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
On Sunday 11418 I was traveling on flight 457 from Philadelphia to Springfield Missouri. My transfer was in Charlotte. Unfortunately, the plane broke down in Philly and there was a 2hour delay. This caused me to miss my connecting flight out of Charlotte. American Airlines was amazing how well they handled a very difficult situation. Most of the passengers on the plane were traveling to different cities. AA brought agents on to the plane to assist passengers with rebooking. There was an amazing flight attendant named KATE who was so helpful and patient with everyone. I finally made it to Charlotte they had numerous agents there to assist passengers with whatever they needed, very little waiting. I did end up getting laid over in Charlotte but AA provided a very nice hotel and food vouchers for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Kudos to American Airlines and a wonderful flight attendant KATE you dont get a 5star rating you get a 10star rating from me. Off the charts amazing job trying to deal with a very complicated situation. People reading this review need to understand it is not the fault of the flight crew, agents, or customer service reps when a plane breaks down or unexpected weather conditions occur. Please be patient and respectful with these hardworking individuals.
ShorthaulEconomy
RoutePhiladelphia
      toCharlotte
OnJanuary 2018
ByGlenn M
13th Feb 18United States
      
American Airlines Review: American Review
 
Overall: 9/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I was a little worried at first after I read the reviews for American but I am happy to say I had a great experience. I would fly with American again.
LonghaulEconomy
OnDecember 2017
BySandra
28th Dec 17United States
      
American Airlines Review: We will NEVER fly American Airlines again.
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
For about a year, we planned a trip to the Galapagos and Machu Picchu, and bought round trip airline tickets on American Airlines (AA). The night before our flight (flight departing morning of 8517), we printed boarding passes. At approximately 10PM we received a nonurgent email from American stating: please call to rebook your flight. No other info given. We almost overlooked the email because of the lack of urgency and the fact that we already had our boarding passes. When we called we were informed our entire trip to Equador was cancelled due to ground conditions. I called both airports we would be landing at and they reported no delays or ground conditions. American Airlines would not tell us what the ground conditions were.The night they cancelled, American Airlines only offered to move us to a flight on American leaving 48 hours later which would not get us to our destination for 4 days. (Our original flight would get us there in just over 24 hours.) They would not put us on a flight with another airline, which were available. We would not be given any compensation for the loss of 4 days of our trip. I called other airlines myself, in the middle of the night, and booked us on Delta (for flights that would get us to our destination on time,) but had to pay 4500 out of pocket. Delta got us to our destination on time and with no ground condition delays. We landed at the same time our original flight was scheduled to land.Upon return from our trip, we tried to contact customer relations at American to get a refund. There was no phone number, so we wrote an email and waited for a call. A day later, a representative called and notified us we would be getting no compensation for our losses. She gave a cursory "I apologize for your inconvenience" She gave us no further support and would not transfer us to a superior. There are no phone numbers for customer service, refunds, or managers. Approximately 1 month after our cancelled flight, we finally received a refund of 1680 for the cost of the flight that was cancelled, but we were not compensated for the 4500 we lost. We understand that flights can get cancelled but expect to be helped onto another flight in a timely manner or compensated for our losses. At the very least we should have an explanation of why our trip was cancelled. American did none of these and we will NEVER fly with them again.
LonghaulEconomy
RouteSeattle
OnAugust 2017
ByStacy
15th Sep 17United States
      
American Airlines Review: American Airlines is NOT for Seniors
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I booked Flight 3615 departing Billings MT for Tulsa OK on 61017 for my friend visiting MT for the first time, she is 75 and only flown once before. The flight was late leaving Billings, arrived late at the DFW. Wheelchair was waiting and took my friend out to the tarmac area where she waited over 35 minutes due to plane not arriving at right gate. She was sent into terminal and told to wait again so she let the wheelchair go expecting to board. Then was told she would have to walk way down the terminal for her plane with a severe back problem. Then it was announced that her plane was boarding Flight 2426 she became excited rushing that she wet her pants got to the plane and the attendant put a blanket in the seat. She called me from Tulsa very agitated. I am VERY UPSET, she is too. Flying is not for the faint of heart. American Airlines is lucky I was not there.
DomesticEconomy
OnJune 2017
BySherry Hogins
12th Jun 17United States
      
American Airlines Review: Bad upgrade experience Chicago to Boston.
 
Overall: 4/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I was shortchanged on a paid upgrade on a late evening flight that got delayed by half an hour (and for the first time on American I heard the pilot actually acknowledge and apologize) and security at O'Hare was a bit of a zoo and most food outlets were shutting down as I got through but since I have status and the cost would be 80 I paid for two 500 mile upgrade vouchers in the hope of getting bumped My seat was already in main cabin extra with reasonable legroom, and I fly this route at least monthly but given the late hour and my hunger I thought I would enjoy an upgrade The product was very disappointing and not worth 80 We were offered nuts which I can't eat due to an allergy, then I was given a snack pack as an alternative however seat comfort was ok but nothing special but food and beverage value maybe 35 for a snack pack and a couple of whiskies (but they often comp your second if you buy two in economy so not that good) wifi is paid for either way and I never use it I really feel ripped off, the upgrade really isn't worth the difference.
ShorthaulFirst Class
RouteChicago
OnMay 2017
ByFred Mars
24th May 17United States
      
American Airlines Review: Worst airline ever
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Don't ever fly American Airlines!!!!!!! They are the worst airline ever!!! They are completely incapable of arriving on time.9172016Flying from Dallas to Jackson hole Wyoming, they put too much fuel in the plane, so they had to remove 7000 pounds of fuel. The person who tried to remove the fuel broke the mechanism which is used to remove fuel. We sat on the plane FOR 3 HOURS while they tried to figure out how to remove the excess fuel.9242016Flying from Jackson hole to Chicago our flight was late, as usual, so we were late getting to our connecting gate. We arrived at our gate exactly at 6:37 for for a flight that departed at 6:45. We were told they had already closed the doors!!! So now we get to sit in Chicago for 3 hours and wait for the next flight going to Cincinnati. On top of that, the upgrade we paid for we did not receive because the next flight did not have any open upgradable seats, and they would not refund our money.I will never fly American Airlines Again!!!!!!!!! They are truly horrible!!!!!!
LonghaulEconomy
OnSeptember 2016
ByMatthew D Stehlin
25th Sep 16United States
      
American Airlines Review: American Airlines employees at Belize
  +1 votes
Overall: 8/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Would like to commend 2 ticket counter employees at American Airlines counter. Elizabeth went above and beyond in trying to get our boarding passes for 5 of us, when our connecting flight got us to the airport later than it should have. It was a bit of a stressful situation for her, but she kept her cool and went as fast as she could. Unfortunately we still didn't make it as we had to wait our turn in line at immigration desk and security. Another employee, named France worked hard along with Elizabeth to get us another flight to our destination, which worked out even better for us. Their work was much appreciated by us all and I hope they will be rewarded for their efforts as you don't often come across such exceptional service when travelling abroad.
LonghaulEconomy
RouteBZE
On
ByLynda
5th Apr 16
      
American Airlines Review: Never Again
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Our family of 17 adults and 2 children, departing from various cities in the US, traveled to St. Maarten for the week between Christmas and New Year. We all booked with American Airlines because it was an "all inclusive" hotel. We all booked our tickets in early 2015 and most of us chose our seats right away. Throughout the interim time period American Airlines changed all of our flights a number of times which required contacting their customer service and sitting on hold for long periods of time. Three of us had to change cities of departure due to a move. That change resulted in a 1000per ticket charge on average. On the day of travel the chaos began. One families flight was cancelled, one persons flight was late for the connecting flight and another couples flight also missed its connecting flight. This resulted in all of those people missing their first night at our resort and having to pay for their own hotel rooms in the city they were stranded in. Rebooking their flights was an absolute nightmare given the poor customer service. On the day of our return to the states, every one of our flights out of St. Maarten was two hours late (this may or may not have been AA fault), causing three of our families to spend the night stranded in an airport. Again, rebooking was a nightmare due to customer service. Almost no one in our family made the trip without some breakdown in customer service from AA. We witnessed double bookings of seats, constant overbooking resulting in requesting people to get off the plane and accept vouchers, no foodbeverage service on some flights, mechanical problems, no crew to unload a plane that landed at midnight and had to sit on the runway for 30 mins until a crew could finish a previous flight. Our flight captain became so frustrated he requested that we contact their corporate office and complain. Others in our party said their flight attendants requested the same. Just don't book with them. They need to get their act together.
LonghaulEconomy
On
ByDebby Fuhrman
7th Jan 16
      
Next Page►
 
1 2 3

Airreview Add Review
Submit your own review
Overall score: Roll over & click to set score Select HERE or below: 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Title:
Review:

Name: Email:
(Your Email address is not displayed on the site)   

Optional information: Would you recommend this airline to a friend?
Class: Distance:

Optional Ratings: You don't have to tell us about this, but it would help make your review stand out
Food: Roll over & click for score Drink: Roll over & click for score
IFE: Roll over & click for score Seat: Roll over & click for score
Cabin Crew: Roll over & click for score Value for Money: Roll over & click for score

Optional Details: Leave blank if your're in a hurry - but it helps if you want to let us know
Aircraft:

Where did you fly from and to?
to:

Enter the 3 letter IATA Airport Code (This information is optional - leave blank if you do not know it)

I live in:        When you flew:
Optional Photos: Add some images to illustrate your review
Image 1:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 2:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 3:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 4:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 5:
Link to image:
Description:
Enter the URL (website address) where the images are stored. You should only link to photos you own, and for which you own the copyright. We are working on hosting images too, but don't have that capacity right now.
Add more detailed ratings of food, IFE & seat
Add more information about your trip
Add photographs


  Return to Editor's review & opinion on American Airlines