AirlinesStarAllianceoneWorldSkyteamOthersNewsSeatmapsLoungesForumContact

Virgin Australia Reviews

OverviewFleetEntertainmentExperienceFrequentFlyerLoungesRoutesHistoryTipsFoodDrinkYourReviewsDiscuss
Airline reviews Virgin Australia Passenger Reviews

  Would you like your say on Virgin Australia? If you would like to contribute, please write your own review & trip report. Reviews are contributors opinions alone, but as the editor I may cut comments violating the terms & conditions ).
Airreviews opinion
Virgin Australia: a three star airline 3 Star Rating: OK, not bad

Your reviews
Virgin Australia
Rated 3.2 out of 10 from 26 reviews
Recommended by 36% of reviewers (4 for, 7 against, 2 abstain)
Seat
 4.6
Food
 4.1
Drink
 4.7
IFE
 3
Service
 5.7
Value
 4.3
Longhaul
2
Econ
0
Biz
Shorthaul
3
Econ
0
First
Domestic
3.5
Econ
0
First
stars  total
0-1
 8
2-3
 4
4-5
 1
6-7
 0
8-9
 2
10
 1


More reviews►
Virgin Australia Reviews 13 reviews, showing 1 to 10
1 2
Virgin Australia Review: excellent service but food could be improved
  +1 votes
Overall: 10/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I have recently done a couple of trips with them Adelaide to Brisbane return and have to admit it's great the way they treat people and how young and friendly the air hostesses are.I do miss having standard inflight audio and music services though as I grew up flying mostly Ansett,TAAAUSTRALIANQANTAS in the past before converting to Virgin Australia having pop music or kids channels or love song channels.I wish they could be more understanding towards customers that are gluten or lactose intolerant to provide better meals with the buy on board menu but other than that no problems.it was most interesting BNEADL to see them provide a cutlery pack plus salt and pepper plus napkin with my meal on the way home which was one of those rice and tuna bowls like what I had on the way over given I work in such a place that does such things but for international carriers in their airline packaging department.
DomesticEconomy
AircraftBoeing 737-700
RouteAdelaide
      toBrisbane
OnDecember 2016
Byfranz chong
31st Dec 16Australia
      
Virgin Australia Review: Bali flight from sydney
 
Overall: 3/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I have recently travelled to and from Bali with Virgin Airline. I have travelled Domestic quite a few times also with Virgin. This trip to Bali will definitely be my last with the airline. Food was poor and to fly 6 to 7 hrs with no inflight entertainment is ridiculous, yes you can download app but with only iPhone battery goes flat before the end of movie and unable to recharge phone. Why you do not retain the screen on back of seat so all passengers some who don't own tablet or laptop is a disappointment. Will from now on fly Jetstar who do provide this with their international flights. I had my 76 year old mother with me and I know how much she and my husband & I would have loved to watch or listen to something other than 2 year old kids screaming for 2 hrs.
LonghaulEconomy
On
ByIngrid Dimech
26th May 16Australia
      
Virgin Australia Review: Delayed flight
 
Overall: 3/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Whilst it may not seem much to have experienced a delay and change of gate, I totally get that this can happen. However when it involves a complete change of seat and am mobility affected with no service recovery it really sucks. Further up date, just had to go security check again as went from one side of the terminal to the other so had to have check again, still with the same airline, I guess common sense is not so common anymore. Was very surprised on how rudely the ground staff who had to push my wheelchair was spoken to by a person on gate 13.
DomesticEconomy
RouteMelbourne
      toSydney
On
ByHeather
5th May 16Australia
      
Virgin Australia Review: Virgin have destroyed our honeymoon
 
Overall: 0/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
We recently booked our honeymoon for April 2016 to Vanuatu flying with Virgin Airlines. A couple of weeks after we booked it we heard about the closer of the airport in Vanuatu due to safty concerns and that Virgin have suspended all flights. We rang them as soon as we found out, this over a month ago now, to find out if our honeymoon would be affected. They assured us that everything would be fine by April and it would not affect us. Not feeling convinced we rang again a couple of weeks later and asked if we could get a refund so we could rebook our honeymoon before it was to late, as we had seen in the newspaper that tho airport in Vanuatu would be closed untill as lest April. When we rang the second time they said they would not refund us as everything will be back to normal by our departure date on the 11th of April. Today however we have revived an email saying our entire honeymoon has been cancelled due to the airport problems. We compleatly understood that this is not Virgin Airlines fault. We then rang and asked how long untill we receive the refund on our flights so we can use it to rebook another honeymoon ASAP as it is not only 1 month untill our wedding. Virgin said the soonest we will be able to get a refund is in 8 to 12 weeks! We spent an hour and a half on the phone with them trying to explane we can't have a honeymoon anymore if our money is tied up with them as we have no money now to rebook another honeymoon. They had no concern and after spending so long in the phone with them we got no where! We are now no longer able to go on a honeymoon anywhere as they have our money and apparently can't give it back for 8 to 12 weeks. Thanks to Virgin Airline we will not be able to have any honeymoon!
LonghaulEconomy
On
ByNatalie corica
1st Mar 16Australia
      
Virgin Australia Review: Trip From Hell.2015
 
Overall: 0/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
10 hours waiting caged up at Coolangata airport for a flight that didnt happen.Oh Yes...2 small children in tow.No food. At midnight got bused 90 minutes out to accomodation. 3 hours later back on a bus ..90 minutes away from airport. NO breakfast. Eventually got on a flight to be told we had to buy the food.!!! Some kind fellow passengers gave the children left overs.Did I forget to say, I was also 6 months pregnant.!!The airline offered me 25 dollar voucher as compensation!!
ShorthaulEconomy
      toAuckland
OnSeptember 2014
ByaBellette
4th Jan 16New Zealand
      
Virgin Australia Review: More concerned with your money than providing good customer
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
They are more concerned with your money than providing decent customer service... Unfortunate experience this time around. I chose to fly with them and pay the extra money (compared to the budget airlines) since I have had very good service with Virgin Atlantic, but it seems this level of service does not relate to other branches of the industry. I get to the counter, put my bag on the scales and it showed I was 800 grams over the limit. it was fine since i'm using the same bag and have just flown with them to other parts of Australia with no problems whatsoever. The staff member didn't say anything and seemed quite happy to let me check the bag in without any trouble just like all my other flights i'd just been on with the airline. She did ask to see that I had proof of a ticket that i'm leaving New Zealand at some point, so I took out my iphone and tried to retrieve my ticket from my email to show her. Unfortunately my phone froze and we had to wait for it to load again. but it was ok, because I was THE ONLY PERSON in the queue to check in. She started to get a bit annoyed by waiting, and so decided that she would charge me for being 800 grams over the weight, just because she was bored of waiting. I know for sure that it is not a safety issue since my flight was actually HALF full. After trying to contact their customer service to complain that I haven't had any trouble before with their other flights that i've just been on, and that i've seen many other people travel on their flights with baggage over excess of 2 Kg over their stated limit with no problems, yet this time i get charged 120 for 800g. They spout on about "being fair to all customers" but it actually isn't fair at all since it's literally based on what mood the ground staff is in at the time. This was actually confirmed by a representative from virgin whom i spoke to in person at the customer services desk at Christchurch. It was just such a horrible way to start my holiday after just qualifying as a medical doctor. I would not recommend this airline to my friends or my fellow colleagues... Truly disappointed.
ShorthaulEconomy
AircraftBoeing 737-700
RouteCairns
      toChristchurch
OnJune 2014
ByDr K
27th Jun 15United Kingdom
      
Virgin Australia Review: Wrecked 2 of my cases but wont cover any repairs??
  +1 votes
Overall: 0/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
I usually travel with VA but recently have changed my views. The last straw was last night when I got home for a business trip and both of my cases were damaged beyond further use and I was told that there's no way that virgin would cover any repairs to luggage. Even though it was thoroughly obvious that it was done by them. Very unhappy an d will never fly with them again.
DomesticEconomy
AircraftAirbus A330
RouteMelbourne
      toPerth, Australia
OnMarch 2015
ByA Trewarn
31st Mar 15Australia
      
Virgin Australia Review: Got fed on a 20 minute flight
 
Overall: 8/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Quick hop down to Canberra on a flight which cost me only 89, and still got a beer, wine and something to nibble on.Unexpected perk really good
ShorthaulEconomy
RouteSydney
OnOctober 2014
ByJohn
30th Oct 14Australia
      
Virgin Australia Review: Woeful value for money. Use Tiger or Jetstar instead basical
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Flew SYD-BNE-TSV yesterday, have frequented this route a few time in the last year. Fully flex econ fare. Aircraft from SYD-BNE very old Virgin Blue plane but at least it wasn't one of the Embraer sardine tins VA still using. Flight boarded on time, then sat there fully loaded 25 min after departure time! We arrived in BNE 15 min late, if they had have got away on time perhaps would have landed on time. No problems BNE-TSV with timings. Inflight entertainment, there is none if you do not have a device to connect with the aircraft. Wish they would stop advertising it as complimentary as it is disingenuous at best. Food, supposed to come with the ticket but pathetic is an understatement. If my organisation is paying near QF prices then I expect a bit more than couple of 20c size biscuits and salsa type sauce at dinner time, a proper meal would be nice and used to be the norm on this fare at any time of day. The SYD-BNE leg they served up third world imported pretzels in a flashy Australian made packaging and again at dinner time. Drinks, beer was warm, only could get some boutique beer called Peroni from BNE-TSV that was terrible. Cabin crew were ok from SYD-BNE but the crew from BNETSV were rude, rarely seen, wouldn't answer call attendant buttons along with an over the top pilot unconvincingly trying to sound funny. Have flown with them in the past periodically when my employer books on them as I usually go for LCC but I have noticed in the last 6 months or so a marked deterioration in service. My tip if you have money fly QF, if looking for best fare JQ or TT.
DomesticEconomy
AircraftBoeing 737-700
RouteSydney
      toBrisbane
OnOctober 2014
ByNQ flyer
27th Oct 14Australia
      
Virgin Australia Review: Bali to Brisbane
 
Overall: 1/10
Seat
Inflight Meals
Inflight Drinks
Entertainment
Service
Value for Money
Recommended
Due to the cold air of the air conditioning, and the fact of coming from a hot climate, there was no provision for blankets to keep people who were freezing, warm. This is not a big expense, and to be honest, its fine to cut a few corners but come on Virgin, be sensible. I personally wont be flying with them again, and am willing to pay a wee bit extra to get some service.
LonghaulEconomy
OnMarch 2014
ByDavid Coulthard
25th Mar 14New Zealand
      
Next Page►
 
1 2

Airreview Add Review
Submit your own review
Overall score: Roll over & click to set score Select HERE or below: 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Title:
Review:

Name: Email:
(Your Email address is not displayed on the site)   

Optional information: Would you recommend this airline to a friend?
Class: Distance:

Optional Ratings: You don't have to tell us about this, but it would help make your review stand out
Food: Roll over & click for score Drink: Roll over & click for score
IFE: Roll over & click for score Seat: Roll over & click for score
Cabin Crew: Roll over & click for score Value for Money: Roll over & click for score

Optional Details: Leave blank if your're in a hurry - but it helps if you want to let us know
Aircraft:

Where did you fly from and to?
to:

Enter the 3 letter IATA Airport Code (This information is optional - leave blank if you do not know it)

I live in:        When you flew:
Optional Photos: Add some images to illustrate your review
Image 1:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 2:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 3:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 4:
Link to image:
Description:
Image 5:
Link to image:
Description:
Enter the URL (website address) where the images are stored. You should only link to photos you own, and for which you own the copyright. We are working on hosting images too, but don't have that capacity right now.
Add more detailed ratings of food, IFE & seat
Add more information about your trip
Add photographs


  Return to Editor's review & opinion on Virgin Australia